Healthcare: Forceps! Clamps!! Funds!!!

Forceps! Clamps! Funds!

—–

Meet the woman who got Komen to defund Planned Parenthood

Posted by at 10:55 AM ET, 02/02/2012
But there’s another woman who deserves equal credit: Americans United for Life President Charmaine Yoest. It’s her group that issued a report last fall, “The Case for Investigating Planned Parenthood,” that led to a probe by the Energy and Commerce Committee. And it’s that investigation that puts Planned Parenthood in violation of Komen’s new policy that bars funding of groups under investigation.Yoest has run Americans United for Life for three years. She came to the group from former Arkansas governor Mike Huckabee’s presidential campaign, and before that, served as the Family Research Council’s vice president for communications. She moved to Washington in the 1980s to work in the Reagan administration. But she counts this as perhaps her biggest victory.“I have to say, it was some of the best news of my entire life,” Yoest told me in an interview this morning about the Komen decision. She saw the news yesterday afternoon, sitting in her driveway and checking Twitter.

“We’re so used to seeing Planned Parenthood succeed at defining themselves as the trendy place to be, and for Komen to make such a smart decision in recognizing the reality behind Planned Parenthood spin,” she adds. “As a breast cancer survivor, I was always troubled with this whole idea that the nation’s largest abortion provider was enmeshed in the breast cancer fight when they weren’t actually doing mammograms. I look at this as smart stewardship.”

Americans United for Life has, for the past year, aggressively pushed Congress to end Planned Parenthood’s federal funding. It has also drafted model legislation that states can use to bar abortion providers from receiving federal funds. Nine states have passed such laws, although the Obama administration has blocked their implementation.

Yoest hopes that the Komen decision is the beginning of a similar push, on the private side, to curtail Planned Parenthood’s funding, although she does not expect other funders to get on board overnight.

“We’ll be looking at their other supporters,” she said. “Let’s be honest, they’ve been very fashionable amongst a certain philanthropic set. I hope that this is a beginning of people re-looking at associations with the nation’s largest abortion provider.”

As those critical of the decision have shown their support of Planned Parenthood — it raised $400,000 in the 24 hours after the Komen decision — Yoest says the anti-abortion community is exploring ways to support the group. Her group will, for the first time, have a team in the District of Columbia Race for the Cure, called “Team Life.” Yoest, a marathoner, ran the race about a decade ago, but stopped after learning of Komen’s affiliation with Planned Parenthood.

“Yesterday we were looking at Komen’s Web site and how we can interact with them,” she says. “I want them to get as much of the benefit as possible. We’ll have T-shirts and a pasta dinner. I’ve run in a couple of marathons. That’s why I always wanted to be a part of their great work.”

5 thoughts on “Healthcare: Forceps! Clamps!! Funds!!!

  1. Here’s the problem with ending Planned Parenthood’s funding. Planned Parenthood provides services other than abortion, vital services to women who wouldn’t otherwise get them. It allows teenagers to come in, get exams that screen for STDs, and walk away with a handful of condoms and birth control, no questions asked.

    And this doesn’t just apply to teens. It applies to young adult women too, the ones that can’t afford health care. I’ve been in that position. It was Planned Parenthood in the first place that discovered the cervical cancer. And guess what? Because I didn’t have insurance, and they are so poorly funded, I suffered with that for four years before Planned Parenthood decided that they wanted to “wait on it”. Yeah wait to see if I got full blown, invasive cancer that would have rendered me infertile, but eligible for Medicaid? I’m guessing that was the plan.

    These are services that are needed. And if they want to yank Planned Parenthood’s funding because of abortions, then they should put it somewhere else that doesn’t provide abortions. Besides, we don’t need any more babies having babies. So, it comes down to a choice to pay for these girl’s birth control now, or to have their families on welfare for the next 18 years? Which do you want to pay out of your tax dollars?

    1. then they should put it somewhere else that doesn’t provide abortions>>>Exactly. I don’t want to deny education about birth control. But there ARE moral choices to me made. Every day. In microscopic ways. And no one seems to care about those microscopic issues. Like life and death. Seriously…what happens qith the baby when it dies. Maybe…again seriously…why can’t we make the woman pay the expenses of the dead babies funeral? Its not expensive. But at least we can memorialize the baby’s life. Rather than throw it in the garbage.

      Shit…Ididn’t realize how angry this makes me!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Grrr.

      TD

      1. I agree with you entirely. That’s how I feel about abortion. But, I feel that it’s a moral dilemma that a woman should have the right to choose for herself. This is America, after all, where a person should have the right to be an amoral jackass – with their own money.

        I really believe that if there weren’t “affordable” abortions, then girls might be a little more cautious about spreading their legs. It’s about taking responsibility for oneself, one’s choices, and the consequences of risky behavior. Personally, I never wanted to be faced with the choice of life or death of a child. Because I know that I would have chosen life, and probably caused myself a whole heap of trouble. So, I chose to protect myself with contraceptives (both barrier method and hormonal method), and I still worried about it.

        I don’t know how women end up “accidentally” pregnant. Seriously. I’ll be blunt. I became sexually active at 15, a young 15. So, given my age, I have been sexually active for nearly 15 years now (give or take. I have to keep some mystery out there). And the only time I got pregnant was by choice. These girls go, “I used a condom! I took birth control! How did this happen?!” Later, these girls have made the admissions to me, “I forgot to take my pill regularly.” or “The condom broke.” If the condom broke, get yourself some Plan B. You can get it at the drugstore, no questions asked.

        Some people call it chemical abortion. You know what comes out? It’s not a full on fetus. It’s just some cells that didn’t even have time to implant themselves to the uteran wall. It’s the same thing as a “hysterical pregnancy”.

        I think these girls need to think long and hard about their choices. Now, I’m not puritan when it comes to sex, you don’t have to be married. But two people should at least be in love. Or what they think is love anyway.

        Now, onto the topic of rape. If a person becomes pregnant by rape, and they don’t want to keep the baby, abortion should be an option that should be covered by insurance, state or private. But, it has to be a documented rape, not someone who walks into a doctors office claiming rape. We’re talking a girl who went to the hospital, had a rape kit done, and filed a police report.

        A life is a life. It should be respected and treated as such. Did you know that a baby’s heart starts beating 18 days after conception? That’s waaay before any clinic would even dream of performing an abortion. Typically, the earliest they will do it is at 8 weeks, but most make a woman wait until 12 weeks. 12 weeks? That’s pretty much out of the first trimester! We’re talking about a baby here! But, according to the law and science, if the baby isn’t viable, talking 20 weeks or less, then it can be aborted. Because it won’t live anyway.

        This makes me angry too.

      2. Can I get your permission, persimmon, or whatever, to put this conversation on my blog? You and I? I’ve bever taken a position on abortion because its not my decision to make. I have the wrong equipment. But the thoughts I shared with you here are thoughts I believe in, and your thoughts are part of the process.

        Let me know.

        TD

Comments respectfully requested:

